Tags

, ,

The hand of the LORD was upon me, and carried me out in the spirit of the LORD, and set me down in the midst of the valley which was full of bones, And caused me to pass by them round about: and, behold, there were very many in the open valley; and, lo, they were very dry. And he said unto me, Son of man, can these bones live? And I answered, O Lord GOD, thou knowest.
Ezekiel 37:1-3

This passage was read as part of devotions at a ministry meeting last week, and, mentors, I thought of you. 

I thought of some of the cases you have, of the case I must have been (and still am) for my own mentors.  Sometimes, it can feel like you are speaking to a valley of hopelessly dry bones.  The circumstance may seem so hopeless.

Imagine what Ezekiel must have felt like.  God takes him to a battlefield, essentially.  It was a valley full of bones.  Such devastation, such barrenness.  The bones were not just dry, they were very dry.  And God asks this bizarre question of Ezekiel.

Can these bones live?

My response would have been, “What kind of stupid question is that?  Of course they can’t live.  They are bones.  That means they are dead.”

But Ezekiel does not forget Who he is talking to.  Ezekiel does not forget the One who asked him that question, and in a response of surrender and faith, even worship, he says, (in the NIV), “O Sovereign LORD, you alone know.” 

What a statement of faith!  Even in the face of scientific fact and logic, Ezekiel surrenders the situation to the sovereignty of God.

How about you?  How is your faith?  Are you looking at a young woman charged to your care thinking, “Yeah right!  I think she is beyond hope; she won’t even listen to me!”  Please do not give up on her.  Speak the truth, even if she doesn’t have ears, and watch God do mighty things. 

Watch Him bring life to those dry bones.

