Tags

, , , , , , ,

 Ratsown

Hebrew: meaning, “pleasure, delight, desire”

I chose this word not fully understanding its meaning and not realizing how greatly its full meaning would impact my outlook on my own battle with lust.

Where is it found?  Psalm 19:14

Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.

Ratsown is the word we translate as acceptable.  It drives the meaning deeper than just tolerable.  I know I’ve prayed that prayer many times.

This verse is more than “let it not be about sex; let it be palatable to your holiness.”

The challenge of this verse is that the words of our mouths and the meditations (musings) of our hearts would be delightful to Him.

For me, at least, that takes purity, especially of the mind, to an entirely different level.  My standard is not being not bad; my standard is bringing delight to the King of Kings.  That’s a radical purity!

