Tags

, , ,

Firing up a new little trend that I can hopefully stick with.  Every Wednesday, I’m going to share a word- one word- from Scripture that showcases a truth about God. 

Yesha

Hebrew: meaning, “liberty, rest, rescue, deliverance.”

To give you an idea of the meaning within the language context, in Israel, this is used as a business name for hotels or retirement homes.

Where is it found?  Psalm 27:1

Here is the beauty of word study (and what I love about having a Hebrew-Greek Keyword Study Bible).  When you tear apart Psalm 27:1 and put in the true meanings of the words, it gives a depth to that verse.

Original {KJV}: “The Lord is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the strength of my life, of whom shall I be afraid?”

Going deeper:

Jehovah is my light and my salvation {my yesha- rest, rescue, liberty, deliverance} whom shall I fear?  Jehovah is the strength {place of rest, stronghold, refuge, fortress} of my life, of whom shall I be afraid {dread, tremble}?

Also found in 2 Samuel 22:3, Job 5:4 (where it is translated “safety”), Psalm 18:2 and over 30 other places throughout the Old Testament.

So there it is: yesha.

Let that truth settle into your heart today.  When temptation strikes, where is God?  When we fail, who is God?  When we cry for help, where is God?  Answer: He is our rescue, our deliverance, our liberty.  He is our yesha.

