Tags

, , ,

Maybe I’m the only one, but I consider doubt a big enemy- possibly the most fatal- to my walk in freedom and my life of purity.

There are days I doubt I will ever be married.  I doubt that my life will ever become anything.  I doubt that I am doing any good in this world.  Eventually, I wallow in the mud of doubt until I drink in the biggest error I’ve ever known, “Maybe God messed up.”

Doubt can be fatal to anyone.  For us women, it is the top of the emotionally slippery slope that can lead us into sin again.  What starts as a simple, “I doubt that will happen” ends in an “I can’t believe I just did that.”  We climb out of the mud and look up only to find that our mountain sure looks alot bigger this time.

It goes something like this: I see something I want but don’t have.  I tell myself I doubt I will ever have it.  I focus on the fact that I won’t have it.  I feel sorry for myself.  I begin to feel depressed, sad, and lonely.  What better pick-me-up than a sex high? Hindsight makes the cycle obvious, but when we are stuck in the middle of it, we can tend to be blind to the pattern that leads from doubt to sin.

This pattern has been around since the beginning.  It’s exactly what Satan used to get Eve.  He had her focus on something she didn’t have and eventually she doubted God and sinned.

So how can we combat doubt?

With truth!

Yes, that seems simple, but when we are caught in the fray, it can be difficult.  That is why we have to actively focus on, and rejoice in, truth.  We need to be filling our heads full of the reality of God’s person, character, and unfailing love for us.

When we doubt, we feed our flesh and kill our spirit, which was created to love an almighty, alpowerful, all-loving God– not question what He can do.

Whatever it is that has raised doubt in your life, surrender it to God, knowing that He can do exceedingly, abundantly, above all we could ever ask or imagine.

